The University of Delhi is stuck to the the 50s decade. Old men with rotten philosophies in their head and their typical "sarkari naukar" attitude. The thousands of students studying in the University count their future upon them. Getting a simple certificate is not easy in the University.
The rules are sacrosanct and mind it all else even your future can be put at stake but things just cant work here. The principal of a college relies on the babus and chaprasis before signing any paper. They can make anybody a fool including him/her,most of the staff is not aware about the rules. A student had to miss a year just because a senior lecturer misguided and guessed about the rules and what can be better she stayed mum on it. We have the energy to take on the cat fights and the bitter arguments but not on things that have values and principles attached. I can understand it costs a lot and the system victimises you. Logically, nobody would want to be victimised. It is so sickening o stand in one of the queues of the University office for your work to be done and fearing to say something to the person half visible through the window hole. You fear he might retort or snap at you. because you asked a silly question. The mind enters into a self-argumentative mode where you form and deny your own questions. The process of the University is so torcherous. I think from here we learn not to book our own tickets, not to bother to get our own license or the voters card or the passport. The University teaches us these lessons too. At the end of three years you get so tired that all you want to do is to settle down, earn and live away from these hastles. I wish we had an awareness programme in the university for the students and the staff....As I am and will always be a part of this University that gave me so much..I wish things would get better here......